Philanthropy Leaders to be Honored at 35th Annual Leadership Awards Luncheon

By Nonprofit Marketing ArizonaSeptember 10, 2019

The honorees will be recognized at the 35th Annual National Philanthropy and Leadership Awards Luncheon. The celebration, presented by The Fiesta Bowl Charities, will be held at the JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn on 

Wednesday, November 6, 2019 from 11:30a.m. to 1:30p.m. 

Purchase tickets here

2019 Leadership Award honorees are:

• Outstanding PhilanthropistsSusan and Bill Ahern

Nominated by: Desert Botanical Garden

• Outstanding Corporation/FoundationArizona Diamondbacks Foundation 

Nominated by: Catholic Charities Community Services

• Outstanding Volunteer FundraiserKevin Robinson 

Nominated by: Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central and Northern AZ

• Outstanding Fundraising ExecutiveJerry Diaz, CFRE

Nominated by: The Kur Carr Group

• Outstanding Student in Philanthropy: Eden Sapien

Nominated by: The Phoenix Rescue Mission


     Event Co Chairs Patty Barney from Phoenix Children’s Hospital and Julianne Simendinger from YMCA have selected a theme of “I am an Arizona Fundraiser” to showcase the amazing work and impact of the nonprofit world in greater Phoenix. 


     “We are the fifth-largest city in the United States and are fortunate to have an abundance of first-rate volunteers, philanthropists, corporations, foundations and fundraising professionals to allow our community to support the arts, education, human services, animal welfare, environmental and health care nonprofits that meet the needs of Arizonans,” said Barney. 


     Simendinger is grateful to the panelists who took part in the nomination process: Ashley Schick, Bashas; Pamela Keefe, National Bank of Arizona; Jacki Grainger, BOK Financial; Cheryl Ruggiero, Thunderbirds Charities; Katie Campana, Wells Fargo; Lisa Notaro, St. Mary’s Food Bank; Kristina Chumpol, Fiesta Bowl Charities; Kelly Lane, Phoenix Children’s Hospital Foundation. In addition to this year’s honorees, the event will highlight award recipients dating back to 1985. For a complete year-over-year review visit


     The annual event, in collaboration with a nationwide day of philanthropy, will also honor recipients of the Spirit of Philanthropy Award. Organizations wishing to highlight an exceptional supporter who goes beyond the call for its organization, and is deserving of recognition for their passion and dedication can submit a Spirit of Philanthropy form at through September 30, 2019. The nominations include an award and a table of 10. 



David and Carol Eaton, 2018

Ardie and Steve Evans, 2017

Billie Jo & Judd Herberger, 2016

David C. Lincoln, 2015

Jan & Tom Lewis, 2014

Bob and Renee Parsons, 2013

John and Dee Whiteman, 2012

The Honorable Barbara Barrett and Dr. Craig Barrett, 2011 Doris & John Norton, 2010

Barbara Anderson Stoiber, 2009

Carol P. Schilling, 2008

Julie Ann Wrigley, 2007

Mary Lou & Ira Fulton, 2006

H.B. Wallace (posthumously) 2005

Debi and Jerry Bisgrove, 2004

Karl and Stevie Eller, 2003

Preston McMurry, 2002

Jacquie and Bennett Dorrance, 2001

Katherine “Kax” Herberger, 2000

A. Wallace & Edith L. Denny, 1999

Delbert R. & Jewell McFarland Lewis, 1998

Jonathan & Maxine Marshall, 1997

Bill and Erma Bombeck, 1996

Eleanor Libby, 1995

Jack W. and Carol DuVal Whiteman, 1994

Virginia M. Ullman, 1993

Tony M. Coury, Jr., 1992

Virginia G. Piper, 1991

Diane & Herbert Cummings, 1990

Sybil B. Harrington, 1989

Thelma H. Kieckhefer, 1988

Conley D. Wolfswinkel, 1987

Robert B. Simonds, 1986

G. Robert Herberger, 1985



Phyllis Dumond and Kathy Jorgenson, 2018

Moly DeFilippis, 2017

Mike Hutchinson, 2016

Lara Byers, 2015

Kerry Raymond, 2014

Tom Ambrose and Ed Fox, 2013

Sharon Harper, 2012

Rebecca Ailes-Fine, 2011

Carolyn Keagle, 2010

John Graham, 2009

Oonagh Boppart & Hazel Hare, 2008

Nita & Phil Francis, 2007

Neal Kurn, 2006

Ardie and Steve Evans, 2005

Jeanne L. Herberger, Ph.D., 2004

Shonda Schilling, 2003

Linda Pope, 2002

Alice and Richard Snell, 2001

Michael D. Greenbaum, 2000

Harry J. Cavanagh, 1999

Drew M. Brown, 1998

Mark DeMichele, 1997

Donald E. Cline, 1996

Bill Shover, 1995

Edward Jacobson, 1994

Thomas and Mary Hudak, 1993

Anthony V. Ehmann, 1992

Eddie Basha, 1991

Robert Matthews, 1990

A.J. Pfister, 1989

Budd L. Peabody, 1988

The L. Roy Papp Family, 1987

Ira L. Lavin, 1986

Harry Rosenzweig, Sr., 1985



Sanderson Ford, 2018

Fiesta Bowl Charities, 2017

The Kemper & Ethel Marley Foundation, 2016 Thunderbirds Charities, 2015

Sprouts, 2014

Wells Fargo, 2013

Fry’s Food Stores, 2012

JP Morgan Chase & Co., 2011

BHHS Legacy Foundation, 2011

Southwest Ambulance, 2010

Shamrock Foods/Emerald Foundation, 2009

Schmitt Jewelers, 2008

The Virginia G. Piper Charitable Trust, 2007

Safeway & The Safeway Foundation, 2006

Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust, 2005

Intel Corporation, 2004

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona, 2003

Wells Fargo, 2002

American Express, 2001

America West Airlines, 2000

Phoenix Suns Charities, 1999

Motorola & The Motorola Foundation, 1998

Del E. Webb Foundation, 1997

Salt River Project, 1996

Honeywell, Inc., 1995

Arizona Public Service Company, 1994

Phoenix Newspapers, Inc., 1993

Dial Corporation, 1992

Phelps Dodge, 1991

The Flinn Foundation, 1990

First Interstate Bank, 1989

Valley Bank Charitable Foundation, Inc., 1988



KTVK 3TV, 2014

Not Awarded, 2013

Not Awarded, 2012

Telemundo Phoenix, 2011

The Arizona Republic, 2010

Daily News-Sun, 2009

KTVK 3 TV, 2009

Cox Communications,2008

frontdoors lifestyle news, 2007

Clear Channel, 2006

KMLE Country 108, 2005

KFNN 1510 AM Financial NewsRadio, 2004

Scottsdale Tribune, 2003

KPNX TV Channel 12, 2002



Lisa Notaro, CFRE, 2018

Jodi Stoken, CFRE, 2017

Tamara Bohannon, CFRE, 2016

Torrie Taj, CFRE, 2015

Lorraine Frias, 2014

Geri Wright, 2013

Carlos Galindo-Elvira, 2012

Randy Schilling, 2011